Oversleeping: Simple Accident or Depression?!?

Image

I HATE oversleeping. But in the moment I’m lost in a dreamland that is tucked away too far from reality to care. I’d say I’m about 70% productive right now. I’m going to work, but a lot of the time it’s late and sometimes I don’t come in until 1 or 2 if I oversleep. It’s hard because I’ll have a day where I’m 90% of my normal productivity and then the next day WHAM!, the train of exhaustion and oversleeping comes out of nowhere.

What has been happening to me sporadically has been an “accident” of sorts. I wake up in the morning (feeling like P. Diddy) to my alarm and I’m still zonked out from the Seroquel. So I’m sorta like a zombie and don’t have any normal brain function yet and get back in my bed. I am a very heavy sleeper and I have really deep dreams. So soon enough I’m sucked back into a really intense, far-away dream. This cycle continues until my zombie hand turns off the alarm on accident instead of snoozing. Then I come out of a really deep sleep to my clock that says 1:00pm. Fuck.

Then the guilt hits. I’m so irresponsible. How could I let this happen again??? I try to defend myself by claiming depression, but I’m not sad. There’s just a complete lack of motivation. Last night I even got myself psyched up for work (I’ve been busy and loving it), but the motivation does not carry through in the morning. It’s like there’s a plastic bubble around my head, keeping me from thinking rationally and it takes several times of the alarm clock going off/housemates waking me up to burst. Then I can think clearly enough to be motivated. Otherwise, I’m lost.

Is it just an accident or laziness??? I can’t tell! I want to accept it as depression because I can be really hard on myself otherwise and because I really can’t just try harder. I’m like a zombie that can’t be reasoned with. I don’t know what to do.

Let me know what you think!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. In my opinion, it’s two things. The medication is making it difficult for you to wake up, and it’s depression, which is why you take the medication.

    Please don’t be hard on yourself. It’s not your fault.

    I just started a new medication, and it’s making me very lightheaded. I feel like a helium balloon.

    I can feel myself sliding into depression, and after the mania I’ve been experiencing for a couple of weeks, I almost welcome it.

    Reply
  2. Thanks for the feedback. 🙂 I will try to take it easy on myself.

    I hope your new medication helps bring you back to normal!!!! Hopefully that will not entail traveling to depression-land first.

    Reply
  3. This sounds so familiar: “I’m like a zombie that can’t be reasoned with.” My husband has given up fighting with me in the morning.

    Your story, with a different med, could be mine. If I could just get clear thinking long enough to get out of bed. I’m lucky that I have a little bit of flex-time where I work, but I hate going in late and staying late.

    I don’t think it’s an accident or laziness. It is part of being bipolar (for some of us, anyway).

    I find it’s worst when bed is comfortable and the room is cold. It makes it great for sleeping, but dangerously hard to get up when getting up is hard enough.

    Reply
    • Definitely agree about the comfy bed and cold room!!! Unfortunately I can’t make my room warmer, maybe I should look into making my bed less comfy?? haha I have definitely considered it.

      Reply
  4. Oh man, this sounds so much like what I’ve been dealing with lately! I don’t know what the heck has been going on with me. I’ve been fluctuating between 3 hours of sleep to 14 hours of sleep on random nights for quite some time now. Like you said, it feels like laziness, but I don’t feel lazy. I’m not trying to just slack around all day. I feel like crap for not only sleeping so many hours, but also completely sleeping my days away. There isn’t any pattern to it either, it just is what it is. It made more sense when it was happening between December and February. I was in a mixed state that was leaning more toward depression. It was awful, and all I wanted to do was to sleep and lie down. The sleep made sense then. But since then I’ve had a meds adjustment to fix that and I don’t feel depressed anymore. But, like you said, it makes it feel like it’s just a lazy and irresponsible fault of mine.

    I just saw my primary physician for something else on Friday, and she thinks that I may be lacking some vitamins, specifically B-12 and vitamin-D. She’s also taking a look at my thyroid to see if there’s an issue there. I’ve had my thyroid checked so much though in the past and it always comes back normal. So, I really doubt it’s that. The vitamin thing seems very possible though, especially D as I don’t get out much due to my social anxiety. I recently read a post by ManagingMania.com and he discussed that very vitamin issue in one of his posts, so I think it’s possible with me. I guess if it is, then I’ll find out this week.

    Maybe that could be a reason for what you’re going through with your sleep? They’d be able to tell with a simple blood work up. It would be nice if mine came back showing that I just need some D or b-12. It beats the “can’t find anything so you just gotta deal with it” answer.

    Thank you for posting this, though! I wouldn’t wish any of my problems on anyone, but it makes me feel better to know that I’m not the only one going through this sleep issue right now. I hope you’re able to figure out what is causing it with you.

    Reply
  1. I MADE IT! « Bipolar Rubble

Leave a Reply

